bvp

April 14, 2008

for you, Python lover, who always needs Matlab functions: boundary value problems are not a problem anymore.

Googling for a bvp4c clone, I ended up here:

This is a Python wrapper for a modified version of the COLNEW boundary value problem solver by U. Ascher and G. Bader. Modifications made include vectorization over mesh points and better compatibility with Python.

there are little differences in the usage, though. I tried to reproduce the examples in this tutorial, to clarify things. You can download the first two examples here.

enjoy!

6 Responses to “bvp”

  1. jsalvati Says:

    I too was very happy to find this. I am sorta surprised it has not been made into a SciPy component.

  2. bastian weber Says:

    Thanks for adapting the two first examples. They helped me significantly in understanding how to formulate the boundary conditions the right manner.

    As I needed solve a problem with unknown parameters I tackled example 3 which dedicates to that topic.

    http://paste.pocoo.org/show/102102/

  3. Mauricio Angeles Says:

    Hi,

    Thanks. It is great that such a numerical tool is around. I tried to install but there is a problem when I built it. The numerical libraries aren’t in the path.
    I am running a Ubuntu Intrepid and I installed the a bundle (Enthought) that included numpy and scipy. Any idea?

  4. lbolla Says:

    Hi Mauricio.
    I installed sooo much time ago… by compiling everything from scratch.
    What libraries are you missing?

  5. Miha Says:

    Mauricio:
    I had problems with building (on debian squeeze) too. I got an error, which said that i don’t have atlas in /usr/lib, even though i had a file libatlas.so.3gf. I tried to fix the problem by making a symbolic link libatlas.so, but that didn’t help. To tell the long story short: i didn’t have the right libatlas package installed. When i installed libatlas-base-dev,

    sudo apt-get install libatlas-base-dev

    everything started to work.

    • Mauricio Says:

      Miha,

      Thanks, I needed it a long time ago for my PhD thesis and I had forgotten about it for a while since I couldn’t install it. I finally picked it up and managed to install and test the scikit which worked perfectly. Thanks Lorenzo. I remember that I couldn’t compile from source at that time. The scikit was definitely easier. I only installed setuptools and python-dev and run the easy_install command.


Leave a Reply

